Giving Zakat this Ramadan

Giving Zakat during Ramadan holds immense significance in Islam

Serving as a pillar of social justice and compassion. Ramadan, the holy month of fasting and reflection, is a time when Muslims deepen their spiritual connection and empathy towards those in need. Zakat, one of the Five Pillars of Islam, is a mandatory charitable contribution aimed at redistributing wealth and alleviating poverty.

The act of giving Zakat during this sacred month not only strengthens individual faith but also contributes to the collective well-being of the community, fostering a sense of shared responsibility and compassion.

What Is Zakat?

Once you have calculated your Zakat, or you already know what your owed amount is, you can choose to make your donation through Greengate Trust. Doing so will support our appeals, helping thousands of innocent lives living in poverty around the world.

Zakat is a charity God obligates Muslims to pay yearly on their money and property. Its payment is made to the poor, vulnerable, and deserving as their divinely established right. The Prophet Muhammad, on him be peace, established Zakat as the third of the five pillars that Islam is built on.

Who Receives Zakat?

Muslims pay Zakat to eight categories of eligible people set by God in the Quran (Surat Al-Tawbah, 9:60):

  • The Poor (in dire need prevented from asking)
  • The Indigent (whose destitution drives them to ask)
  • Those Administering Zakat’s collection and distribution
  • Those whose hearts are to be reconciled
  • Those in bondage (slaves to be freed and captives)
  • The Debt-Ridden
  • In the Cause of God
  • The Wayfarer (stranded, displaced, or cut off from resources while traveling)